fbpx

Family & philosophy

We, the Hagn family, have been growing wine for over 300 years. The most important thing is our strong family bond: We always pull together – and it’s worth it: We have had the pleasure of winning numerous awards in a wide variety of competitions. Since 2007 more than 15 of our wines have been awarded prizes in the SALON Austria Wine competition, including one SALON winner. Then there are more than 11 provincial wins and the nomination as Wine Estate of the Year at the Lower Austrian wine awards. In 2016, we were the first and only winery in Austria to receive this award for the fourth time running. As you can see, things are going well for us here in Mailberg!

Leo Hagn jun. and Wolfgang Hagn jun. have been responsible for the wine estate since 2006. In keeping with our family history, they develop the wine estate with consideration for the environment and with the next generations and the future in mind. You can usually find Leo somewhere between the vines and the wine barrels. His wife Elisabeth looks after the online shop orders. Wolfgang attends events and thinks up new marketing strategies. Carina, Wolfgang’s wife, has been taking care of the Hagn Weindomizil home of wine including restaurant and guest rooms since 2009. She also travels the world to make sure people can enjoy Hagn wines everywhere, from Europe to Russia and as far as China.

Wolfgang Sr., Wolfgang’s father, our big boss, keeps a watchful eye on everything: logistics, sales, finance and all work in progress, to make sure everything runs smoothly. You can find his wife Roswitha either in the office with us or at a wine tasting with you in the wine gallery. Leo sen. handed over his position as cellar master to his son-in-law Leo in 2006 – now he keeps an eye on what’s happening on the wine estate. And because he makes personal deliveries, he is also well known among our local customers and always a welcome face. His wife Maria looks after regional wine shops and helps us in the office.

Our long-standing colleagues Birgit, Doris and Vanessa, the office superstars, have been part of the family for a long time!

And last but not least, Emma & Rico, our cheerful welcoming committee.

Leo Hagn Jun.

Leo Hagn Jun.

Cellarmaster
Wolfgang Hagn jun.

Wolfgang Hagn jun.

Sales, Marketing
Wolfgang Hagn Sen.

Wolfgang Hagn Sen.

Logistics, Sales, Finance
Leo Hagn Sen.

Leo Hagn Sen.

Deliveries
Elisabeth Hagn

Elisabeth Hagn

Online Dispatch
Carina Hagn

Carina Hagn

Logistics, Sales, Finance
Roswitha Hagn

Roswitha Hagn

Office, Wine tasting
Maria Hagn

Maria Hagn

Office, Sales
Emma & Ricko

Emma & Ricko

Welcome Committee & Security

Mailberg – the location

The small market town of Mailberg is one of the best-known wine-growing towns in the north-western Weinviertel region. It is situated in the middle of a deep, wind-protected valley, the Pulkautal valley. The vines are particularly happy on the sun-drenched slopes. The Sovereign Military Order of Malta knew this a long time ago and started growing wine here as early as 1140. The soils of the Mailberg Valley are very chalky and covered with loamy sand and loess. This, combined with our special microclimate, gives the wines their distinctive fresh and spicy aroma and produces a great diversity of varieties.

In addition to the classic Grüner Veltliner variety, widely known as Weinviertel DAC and Weinviertel DAC Reserve, the 300 hectares of vineyards present excellent conditions for Chardonnay, Gelber Muskateller, Welschriesling and Sauvignon Blanc. Mailberg is also known as the “red wine island”, and we are particularly delighted to have won the Lower Austrian Wine Award five times in a row with our Blauer Zweigelt.

We have around 50 hectares of vine growing area. Mailberg’s most important and best-known location, the Hundschupfen, is immediately next to our wine estate. On this sandy south-facing slope, the grapes can mature slowly well into autumn thanks to the many hours of sunshine – ideal conditions for the Grüner Veltliner.

Would you like to know more about our wines and grape varieties? Here you can download all wine data sheets!

Newsletter

News, competitions, special offers – with our newsletter you will always be the first to receive the most important information about the Hagn wine estate. Sign up now and stay up to date!

fbpx

Familie & Philosophie

Seit über 300 Jahren sind wir – die Familie Hagn – schon im Weinbau tätig. Das Wichtigste ist dabei unser Zusammenhalt: Wir ziehen immer an einem Strang – und das lohnt sich: Wir durften uns schon über zahlreiche Auszeichnungen bei den unterschiedlichsten Bewerben freuen. Seit 2007 waren über 15 unserer Weine im SALON Österreich Wein vertreten, darunter auch ein SALON-Sieger. Dazu kommen über 11 Landessieger-Titel und die Ernennung zum Weingut des Jahres bei der niederösterreichischen Landesweinprämierung. Als erster und einziger Betrieb Österreichs erhielten wir diese Auszeichnung im Jahr 2016 bereits zum vierten Mal in Folge. Sie sehen: Es läuft gut bei uns in Mailberg!

Seit dem Jahr 2006 sind Leo Hagn jun. und Wolfgang Hagn jun. für das Weingut verantwortlich. Auf dem Fundament unserer Familiengeschichte bauen die beiden das Weingut mit Bedacht auf die Umwelt und nachfolgende Generationen auf und entwickeln den Betrieb stetig und zukunftsorientiert weiter. Leo finden wir dabei meist irgendwo zwischen Rebstöcken und Weinfässern. Seine Frau Elisabeth wickelt die Bestellungen unseres Onlineshops ab. Wolfgang findet man auf Veranstaltungen oder beim Aushecken neuer Marketingstrategien. Carina, die Frau von Wolfgang, kümmert sich seit 2009 um das Weindomizil Hagn mit Restaurant und Gästezimmern und treibt sich auch öfter einmal in der weiten Welt herum, damit man die Hagn-Weine auch von Europa über Russland und sogar bis China genießen kann.

Wolfgangs Vater Wolfgang sen. bewahrt als unser „Big Boss“ gekonnt den Überblick, kümmert sich um Logistik, Verkauf, Finanzen sowie alle „Baustellen“ und schaut, dass alles in geordneten Bahnen verläuft. Seine Frau Roswitha treffen Sie entweder bei uns im Office oder sie verkostet mit Ihnen unsere Weine in unserer Weingalerie. Leo sen. hat das Amt des Kellermeisters 2006 an Schwiegersohn Leo übergeben – jetzt hat dieser stets einen Blick auf das Geschehen im Weingut und ist bei unseren Kunden aus der Region dank täglicher persönlicher Lieferungen wohlbekannt und gern gesehen. Seine Frau Maria betreut regionale Vinotheken und unterstützt uns bei den Bürotätigkeiten.

Unsere langjährigen Kolleginnen Birgit, Doris und Vanessa, die guten Feen im Büro, zählen für uns schon lange auch zur Familie!

Und Emma & Rico als unser freudiges Begrüßungskomitee dürfen natürlich auch nicht unerwähnt bleiben.

Leo Hagn Jun.

Leo Hagn Jun.

Kellermeister
Wolfgang Hagn jun.

Wolfgang Hagn jun.

Vertrieb, Marketing
Wolfgang Hagn Sen.

Wolfgang Hagn Sen.

Logistik, Verkauf, Finanzen
Leo Hagn Sen.

Leo Hagn Sen.

Lieferungen
Elisabeth Hagn

Elisabeth Hagn

Online Versand
Carina Hagn

Carina Hagn

Weindomizil Hagn
Roswitha Hagn

Roswitha Hagn

Office, Weinverkostung
Maria Hagn

Maria Hagn

Vinothek, Bürotätigkeiten
Emma & Ricko

Emma & Ricko

Begrüßungskomitee & Security

Mailberg – Die Lage

Die kleine Marktgemeinde Mailberg ist einer der bekanntesten Weinbauorte des nordwestlichen Weinviertels und liegt mitten in einem windgeschützten Kesseltal, dem Pulkautal. An den sonnenverwöhnten Hängen fühlen sich die Rebstöcke besonders wohl. Das erkannte der Souveräne Malteser Ritterorden schon früh und betrieb hier bereits im Jahr 1140 Weinbau. Die Böden des „Mailberg Valley“ sind sehr kalkhaltig und mit lehmigen Sanden und Löss bedeckt. In Kombination mit unserem speziellen Kleinklima verleihen sie den Weinen die für unsere Region charakteristische frische und würzige Stilistik und ermöglichen eine große Sortenvielfalt.

Neben dem Klassiker Grüner Veltliner, weithin bekannt als Weinviertel DAC und Weinviertel DAC Reserve, gedeihen auf rund 300 Hektar Weingärten Chardonnay, Gelber Muskateller, Welschriesling oder Sauvignon Blanc hervorragend. Mailberg ist aber auch als Rotweininsel bekannt, und wir freuen uns besonders, mit unserem Blauen Zweigelt bereits fünfmal in Folge den Landessieger-Titel der NÖ Wein Prämierung in die Region geholt zu haben.

Wir bewirtschaften rund 50 Hektar Rebfläche. Die wichtigste und bekannteste Lage Mailbergs schließt direkt an unser Weingut an und heißt Hundschupfen. Auf diesem sandigen Südhang können die Trauben dank der langen Sonnenstunden langsam bis weit in den Herbst ausreifen – ideale Bedingungen für den Grünen Veltliner.

Möchten Sie mehr über unsere Weine und Rebsorten wissen? Hier können Sie alle Weindatenblätter herunterladen!

Newsletter

Neuigkeiten, Nachrichten, Gewinnspiele, Rabattaktionen – mit unserem Newsletter erhalten Sie stets als Erster die wichtigsten Infos aus dem Weingut Hagn. Melden Sie sich jetzt an und bleiben Sie immer up to date!